top of page

So Much Sun

Well, what is a bigger problem: having no material or having too much? I believe that Mr. Abraham has commissioned me to write about 4 minutes and I’m currently sitting at 6:32. I guess that’s better than not having anything, but what’s more is that all my notes would indicate that there is more yet to come. Transitional bits and pieces, a ‘B’ section in the final movement and an ending I haven’t yet put together. I have another lesson coming up as Dr. Meechan has graciously agreed to help me with orchestration. It’s so much harder when you have pretty much EVERYTHING at your disposal - it’s exciting, but what do I put where? I also need help making decisions with percussion. Writing for jazz ensemble is more in my wheelhouse, but this has been very good for me. 


I had some students this week tell me they were excited about this upcoming project and putting it together and now that I have a bulk of it done, I’m starting to feel that way, too.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Time with David Braid

A lot has happened in the last two weeks, not the least of which was a fabulous lesson with the one-and-only David Braid. I was so thankful that he would give me his time and share his knowledge with

Constraints (part 2)

I spent some time last night searching for rhythmic constraints through poetry. Eric Whitacre has said that poetry contains its own music - that it’s bubbling at the surface of the prose. I have used

Essences

For each section of the piece I want to give myself a reference of essence. I’ve heard Eric Whitacre and Bob Mintzer talk about this sort of thing, where you have a recording or idea that is dear to y

bottom of page