top of page

Essences

For each section of the piece I want to give myself a reference of essence. I’ve heard Eric Whitacre and Bob Mintzer talk about this sort of thing, where you have a recording or idea that is dear to you and you aim to put it into your piece. It’s not that you’re copying - you’re just trying to capture the essence of what’s going on. For each of the three sections, I have found an ‘essence’ that I will use for reference:


Head - Ravel’s String Quartet, 2nd Movement. I wanted something heady, mechanical, and industrial think-box clicking away. I originally thought Brubeck’s Blue Rondo A La Turk would be an excellent point of reference, but I eventually want all of the themes to fold in one one another and having something in 9/8 will certainly prove tricky. The Ravel is in 3, which will be easier to intertwine. From my own program notes on the work: The fervent pizzicato that opens the Assez vif mechanically ticks away with rhythmic precision like so many of the prized mechanical toys and small watches that he collected and displayed in his home.


Heart - Fade Into You by Mazzy Star. Is there a more sincere performance of musical expression from the heart?


Hand - This one took longer. I had some ideas, and I may return to them, but I think I’m going to use Ricochet by Faith No More. I like the melodic and harmonic possibilities. As far as I can tell, this song uses the harmonic major scale. I played with it and lowered the 2nd scale degree - turning it into a Phrygian ♮3 scale which I was really digging - it adheres perfectly to a D7b9 chord, so I think it’ll work nicely. It also plays very nicely into that 4-3-7 (in Bb Major) motive. This piece also sounds laboured - evocative of hard work in its musical aspects as well as its lyrics and performance. I think it’ll work quite well.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

So Much Sun

Well, what is a bigger problem: having no material or having too much? I believe that Mr. Abraham has commissioned me to write about 4 minutes and I’m currently sitting at 6:32. I guess that’s better

My Time with David Braid

A lot has happened in the last two weeks, not the least of which was a fabulous lesson with the one-and-only David Braid. I was so thankful that he would give me his time and share his knowledge with

Constraints (part 2)

I spent some time last night searching for rhythmic constraints through poetry. Eric Whitacre has said that poetry contains its own music - that it’s bubbling at the surface of the prose. I have used

bottom of page